Local Art Competition Winners Announced

Photo by

The results from the Hodgson Loom Gallery’s Annual Open Art Competition 2019, themed ‘Under’.

There were 108 entries from approximately 60 different artists, aged from 3 to 96; from professional artists, sculptors and photographers to amateurs, crafters and hobbyists across a wide variety of mediums; to produce and incredibly diverse and fascinating exhibition.

The judging, each year, is performed by a new collective drawn from creative professionals, art critics, art buyers, lecturers, plus a professional from outside the art world. Therefore no two exhibitions are ever judged by the same group of people, each year is governed by a new set of likes, views and criteria.

Overall winner: Niamh Kelly – Towards the Light

Thankfully, as curator, I have no say in the adjudication, the judges’ decision is final! With such a breadth of styles, mediums and craftsmanship to choose from it is a daunting task, some categories being decided by a single point, including the Overall Winner, it was that close.

This year we had a fine selection of entries from the Under 12’s and in the Age 13-18 category, some of the entries coming in from the UCM students,  which bodes well for the ongoing development and nurturing of fabulous Manx artists.

Clockwise from top left: Ronnie Doyle – Cornaa Farm, Under Snow, Colette Davies – The Deep, Kate Summerville – Swell, Max Roberts – Underwater, Anne-Louise Clague – Underestimated Undergrowth.

Every year new names appear throughout the categories alongside many of the Island’s most talented artists; some bringing new techniques; reinvigorating traditional skills, or showcasing unique styles; again highlighting the incredibly high standard and depth of creativity on our island.

This year’s theme will be ‘EYE’, whether that be literal or lateral is, as ever, entirely up to the artist. Handing-in (two pieces maximum) will be in the first week in December)

The present exhibition will finish on Saturday 8th February at 5:00pm, the vast majority of work is for sale, so a fabulous opportunity to grab yourself an award-winning piece of art.

Clockwise from top left: Darcey Bateson – Under the Mask, Greg Barlow - …..The Weeping Willow Tree, Robert Betteridge – Douglas Lighthouse, Under the Night Sky, Derek Black-Kay – Underworld, Martin Vaughan – Ozwald, Down Under, Helen Winter – The World Down Under, Alexandra Grace Yeardsley – Underweight, Janet Wignall – Under 80 (just!).

Results From This Year's Competition

Overall winner: Niamh Kelly – Towards the Light
Joint runner-up: Neil Milsom – Under the Weight of the World
Joint runner-up: Helen Winter – The World Down Under

Public Vote winner: Ronnie Doyle – Cornaa Farm, Under Snow
Runner-up: Janet Wignall – Under 80 (just!)

2D winner: Kate Summerville – Swell
2D runner-up: Martin Vaughan – Ozwald, Down Under

3D winner: Neil Milsom – Under the Weight of the World
3D runner-up: Tara Howarth – Seahorse

Winner of the 3D category: Under the Weight of the World by Neil Milsom

2D Mixed Media winner: Colette Davies – The Deep
2D mixed Media runner-up: Graihagh Betteridge – Underwater Rays

Textile winner: Helen Winter – The World Down Under
Textile runner-up: Anne-Louise Clague – Underestimated Undergrowth

Photographic winner: Greg Barlow - …..The Weeping Willow Tree
Photographic runner-up: Tim Craig – Under the Trees, Ballaglas

Age 13-18 winner: Alexandra Grace Yeardsley – Underweight
Joint runner-up: Darcey Bateson – Under the Mask
Joint runner-up: Derek Black-Kay – Underworld

Children 12 & Under winner: Robert Betteridge – Douglas Lighthouse, Under the Night Sky
Runner-up: Max Roberts – Underwater

Words by Julie Ashby-Smyth from the Hodson-Loom Gallery

Facebook: @HodgsonLoomGallery
Email: julia@laxeywoollenmills.com

If you have news from the Arts community you'd like to feature on our website, please get in touch with our Arts Engagement Officer - Grainney.Sheard@gov.im.

A sponsored body of
The Department of Education, Sport and Culture
Rheynn Ynsee, Spoyrt as Cultoor
Isle of Man Government
Reiltys Ellan Vannin
Isle of man Government