New Members Appointed to the Isle of Man Arts Council.

Photo by

The Isle of Man Arts Council are delighted to welcome three new Council members, Sharon Walker, Benjamin Heath and Peter Greenhill who were elected to post at the end of 2018.

They replace outgoing council members, David Wertheim, Alex Brindley and Juan Moore. The Isle of Man Arts Council would like to thank them for their dedication and hard work throughout their Council membership.

We are delighted to welcome Sharon, Ben and Peter to the Isle of Man Arts Council.  They are bringing their extensive varied talents and experience to Council and we know they will be excellent Council members.  We are receiving record numbers of funding applications reflecting the depth and breadth of creativity which continues to develop across the Isle of Man, and our new members will be supporting and promoting this development and engagement in the future.  We also recognise the valuable contributions made to the Arts Council by David Wertheim, Alex Brindley and Juan Moore and thank them for their wise counsel and constant support.

– Jane Corkill, Arts Development Manager.

Outgoing Members 2018
Image from the final Council meeting for outgoing members in December 2018. Right to left: Phil Chadwick, Chris Williamson, Jane Corkill, Laura Rowles, Jo Pretty, Emma Callin, Alex Brindley, Marlene Maska MLC and David Wertheim. 

We are increasingly seeing the contribution which the Arts, Culture and Creativity make to our quality of life and general wellbeing: accordingly it is vitally important that the Membership of Isle of Man Arts Council reflects the breadth, depth and unique character of the Island’s Arts environment.

Our retiring Members, David Wertheim (Retiring Vice Chairman), Alex Brindley and Joan Moore, have given dedicated service and we have benefited from their wealth of knowledge and experience to during their years on Council: we thank them sincerely and wish them well in the future.

We have been very fortunate in finding talented, experienced and very professional new Members who come from a variety of backgrounds and, I’m confident, they will enhance the current considerable range of experience in place to support, inspire and promote the Creative Arts in our Island Community into the future.

– Marlene Maska MLC, Chair of the Isle of Man Arts Council

Sharon Walker
Photo by Steve Babb

Sharon Walker

Sharon has been involved in amateur theatre, both on and off the Island, for over 30 years. A passionate advocate for local drama, she has appeared in numerous productions with the Service Players, Parker & Snell Productions and Hog The Limelight. She has also been involved in shows with both the Manx Operatic Society and Douglas Choral Union. More recently, Sharon has taken over as Chair of the Manx Amateur Drama Federation (MADF). 

Read Sharon Walker’s bio in full here.

Ben Heath
Photo by Steve Babb

Benjamin Heath

Benjamin is the Chief Operating Office for Gateway Trade & Investment that operates brands on the Isle of Man, such as Harbour Lights, Sir Norman’s and Wiltshire Farm Foods. In addition to his work on island, Ben sits on executive boards providing strategic guidance for international companies. Outside of work Ben enjoys participating in the Isle of Man theatre scene, taking leading roles within local performances at the Gaiety and also directing and producing award winning amateur theatre. He is a member of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts and began his love of the arts working backstage at the Gaiety whilst at school on the island.

Read Benjamin Heath’s bio in full here.

Peter Greenhill
Photo by Steve Babb

Peter Greenhill

Peter Greenhill is an international businessman, having lived and worked in the UK, Sweden and Hungary before moving to the Isle of Man in 2013 to take responsibility in the Department of Economic Development for growing the E-gaming and E-business market sectors. When a young man, Peter had extensive experience in Stage Management, lighting and sound in the theatre, both professionally and on an amateur basis. He has a very strong interest in the theatre, film and music, and also enjoys visual arts and the use of digital animation.

Read Peter Greenhill’s bio in full here.

The Isle of Man Arts Council

The Isle of Man Arts Council was set up over 50 years ago to support the work of local amateurs and professionals as well as visiting artists. It funds many organisations and offers advice and information to hundreds of people every year, encouraging and enabling participation and development in all aspects of the arts.

All three members have now attended their first meetings. Sharon and Ben will serve on the Arts Council for a four year term. Peter will serve for two years owing to the fact that his appointment replaces previous Council member, Juan Moore who stepped down from the Council in the Autumn of 2018 due to other commitments. 

Membership of the Arts Council is voluntary. Members give their time freely to serve the people of the Isle of Man by developing and improving the knowledge, understanding, practice and access to the arts in all its forms. The Arts Council is a sponsored body of the Department of the Education, Sport and Culture.

February Meeting 2018
The first funding meeting in February 2019 saw over 70 applications submitted to Council.

Current members

The current chair for the Council is Mrs. Marlene Maska MLC.

The new members join fellow council members, Laura Rowles, Jo Pretty, Jo Callister, Dave Armstrong, Phil Chadwick and Chris Williamson.

See all council member bios here.

National Strategy

National Joint Strategy for Culture and the Arts

The IOM Arts Council and Culture Vannin have a shared vision to promote and develop arts and culture on the Isle of Man. Whilst we work together to do this through our Joint National Strategy, we do so in very different and wholly distinct ways.

Read more about our initiatives here.

Culture Vannin is represented on the council by Chris Williamson and the Arts Council are in turn represented on the Culture Vannin Board by Phil Chadwick.

Contact Us

The Isle of Man Arts Council
Department of Education Sport and Culture
Unit 8, Villa Marina Arcade
Harris Promenade

Telephone:+44 1624 694598

A sponsored body of
The Department of Education, Sport and Culture
Rheynn Ynsee, Spoyrt as Cultoor
Isle of Man Government
Reiltys Ellan Vannin
Isle of man Government